Criminal Punishment Code Task Force


The 15-member Criminal Punishment Code Task Force was created as a result of Chapter 2019-167, Laws of Florida, which was signed and passed into law in 2019. The Task Force was formed “for the purpose of reviewing, evaluating, and making recommendations regarding sentencing for and ranking of noncapital felony offenses under the Criminal Punishment Code.” The Criminal Punishment Code is codified in Chapter 921, Florida Statutes.

For more information on the Criminal Punishment Code, please see the resources below.

Task Force members include attorneys, educators, judges, law enforcement officers, legislators, as well as representatives from the Florida Department of Corrections, and the Florida Department of Juvenile Justice.

The Task Force is responsible for creating a comprehensive report by June 30, 2020, that reviews issues considered by the Task Force, makes recommendations for policy changes, and provides an analysis of the impact such policy changes might have if enacted by the Florida Legislature.


  • Honorable Ashley Moody, Attorney General (Chair)
  • Honorable Michelle Sisco, Circuit Judge Thirteenth Judicial Circuit (Chair Designee)
  • Professor Michael Morley, Assistant Professor, FSU College of Law (Governor Appointee)
  • Professor John Stinneford, Professor, UF Levin College of Law (Governor Appointee)
  • Honorable Melissa Nelson, State Attorney Fourteenth Judicial Circuit (Governor Appointee)
  • Honorable Michael Andrews, Circuit Judge Sixth Judicial Circuit (Governor Appointee)
  • Sheriff Christopher Nocco, Pasco County Sheriff (Governor Appointee)
  • Chief Melanie Bevan, Chief of Police Bradenton Police Department (Governor Appointee)
  • Senator Jason Pizzo, Senator Thirty-Eighth District (President of the Senate Appointee)
  • Honorable Larry Eger, Public Defender Twelfth Judicial Circuit (President of the Senate Appointee)
  • Sheriff William Snyder, Martin County Sheriff (Speaker of the House of Representatives Appointee)
  • Honorable Bernie McCabe, State Attorney, Sixth Judicial Circuit (Speaker of the House of Representatives Appointee)
  • Honorable Charles E. Williams, Circuit Judge Twelfth Judicial Circuit (Chief Justice Appointee)
  • Honorable Donna McIntosh, Circuit Judge Eighteenth Judicial Circuit (Chief Justice Appointee)
  • Mr. Kenneth Steely, General Counsel DOC (Secretary of the DOC designee)
  • Secretary Simone Marstiller, DJJ (Secretary of DJJ)


  • Libby Guzzo, Legislative Affairs, Attorney General's Office Staff
  • Jennifer Mooney, Staff Attorney, 13th Judicial Circuit
  • Justine Hicks, Task Force Support, Attorney General's Office Staff


Meeting Date Location Details
Task Force Meeting August 14, 2019, 1:00 P.M. The Cabinet Meeting Room, LL-01
400 S. Monroe Street
Tallahassee, Florida 32399



Meeting Notice

Watch Video

Non-Prison Sanctions Subcommittee September 19, 12:00 P.M
Conference Call


Meeting Notice
Scoresheets Subcommittee September 27, 12:00 P.M
Conference Call


Meeting Notice
Enhancements Subcommittee October 1, 2019, 12:00 P.M.
Conference Call


Meeting Notice
Task Force Meeting October 4, 2019, 1:30 P.M. Stetson University Law Center
1700 North Tampa Street
Tampa, Florida 33602
Meeting Notice
Task Force Meeting January 17, 2020

Task Force Meeting March 27, 2020

Task Force Meeting May 15, 2020